Uncaged Student Journalists Travel to Dallas to Win Nation’s Top Award


At the culminating session of the JEA/NSPA national conference in Dallas, Texas, Uncaged journalists earned the preeminent award in high school journalism: the National Pacemaker.

“NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best,” Laura Widmer, executive director of the National Scholastic Press Association said of the award that is commonly refered to as the Pulitzer of high school journalism.

In all, 275 student news publications entered the Pacemaker competition. Two teams of three judges devoted two days to the judging and studied every entry discussing its strengths and weaknesses, narrowing down the competition to 49 finalists.

When the process was finished, 26 earned the Pacemaker award at the conference that drew 4,000 students.

“Knowing the courage and diligence these students took to each edition, this recognition fills me with pride,” Uncaged adviser Elizabeth Cyr said.